Dropping The Ball On A Killer

There has been much discussed lately about Michael Vick and his recent endorsement deal re-signing by Nike, who dropped him after he was charged with association of dogfighting crimes, and Subway, who sponsored an award for “Sportsman of the Year” for BET, which Vick won. Sharing my home with a dog, Preston, who was a victim of a dogfighting environment, I feel compelled to speak about this. What I have found most disturbing is the amount of people who claim he has paid his debt to society and deserves…”a second chance.” The thing that these people are forgetting is, he did get a second chance when he was given his freedom back…and early I must add. Michael Vick was given a 23 month prison sentence for violating the Federal crime of conspiring to travel in interstate commerce in an unlawful act, which to me is the equivalent of tax evasion, but only served 19 months of it. He never served a minute for the actual dogfighting and admitted death by electrocution, gun shot wounds and body slamming to the ground of at least 8 dogs that wanted nothing more than to crawl on the couch of a beloved family, instead, parished at the hands of a man with a violent past.

The part I draw the line and put my foot down, he was rewarded by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell by reinstating him back in the League, and allowing him to play a child’s game for million dollar contracts and endorsement deals again. I thought what he did, of all things, would warrant a life long ban. I mean, come on, Pete Rose got a lifetime ban in MLB for essentially gambling. If this were you or me, we would still be behind bars, but since he is blessed with a supreme athletic talent, he gets a pass.

I know talking to people about animals and how their life should be treated, in most cases, equally to that of human life, I would automatically get lumped in as a crazy dog person or lunatic animal activist…or, I’ve even been called a “tree hugger” of all things, which I simply don’t understand since I’m not strapping myself to a tree and advocating for the survival of the rain forest. I just think that dogs and other animals should get the same type of treatment we all feel are obligated to in this thing we call life…and I’m not the only one who feels this way. The FBI has recognized animal abuse as an indicator of possible human abuse, whether it be a precursor to or simutaneously, for over twenty five years now! Every known serial killer started with the killing of family pets or other animals. Just look at a few of the names of these role models on this list:

Jeffrey Dahmer, Ted Bundy, David Berkowitz, Albert Disalvo (the Boston Strangler), Dennis Rader (the BTK Killer), Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold (the Columbine High School killers)…the list goes on and on…

The problem with all this escalated after the verdict came in with the Casey Anthony trial, who was seemed destined for execution, or at least a life prison term sentence for the killing of her child, Caylee. Shocking the world, she was found not guilty, which created an uproar on why Michael Vick got a stiffer penalty for killing dogs, and Casey will never touch the cold bars of a prison cell. One glaring difference is, Vick eventually did cooperate with authorities and plead guilty, Casey did not, and it was the job of the prosecutor to present evidence of her apparent and somewhat obvious crime.

After revisiting the articles written about Vick, probably the most telling part of his character, was from a confidential informant who wrote in his notes that Vick’s adrenaline “would go up, he’d get a high when the group (Vick and his co-defendants, Quanis Phillips and Purnell Peace) were killing (the dogs).”  Call me what you will, but this sounds like a man who is practicing his craft as a serial killer…I can only hope that his next free pass turns into a fumble.

11 responses to “Dropping The Ball On A Killer

  1. Jeff, just wanted you to know that I read your blog and can’t believe there weren’t other comments on here. I was LIVID when all this went down with that A-hole MV (I can’t even stand to say his name out loud!). Can’t believe what people consider a “hero” or “role model” these days!! Plus I have spent a LOT of money at Subway over the years but that has all changed. Sponsoring what I consider a MURDERER with a SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR AWARD???? Are you KIDDING ME???? Everyone involved in this entire situation should be put on trial for letting that monster back into mainstream America. Anyone who treats an animal like that…. how do you think he treats PEOPLE? Just shakin my head……….. But Jeff, kudos to you and Preston for attempting to bring to light the beauty and sheer awesomeness of our beloved pitties. WE LOVE YOU!!!! ~~ Theresa, Bear & Harley ~~

  2. I agree with you whole heartedly. I am a vegan animal rights activist and because of this I am labeled a terrorist or an extremist or it is assumed that I like PETA. Meanwhile, murderers like Vick are celebrated, idolized and rewarded for their heinous acts of animal cruelty. I am sick of people playing the race card, saying Michael Vick paid his debt to society and calling me an unsavory person because I hope that karma quickly takes him permanently out of the game of life.

    Michael Vick murdered countless dogs and his minute prison stint is a joke in comparison to his heinous crimes. Michael Vick fought dogs for sport, and when they didn’t win him money he hung, drowned, electrocuted or shot them. He tied innocent dogs to rape stands
    for the brutal practice of mating. Not to mention the beatings and the syringes full of drugs forcibly injected into the dogs. It was hell on earth for the dogs at Bad Newz Kennels who had no say in their actions. And though some made it out alive, many of the dogs continue to suffer to this day.

    I know Michael Vick is not a changed man, nor does he have any remorse for the horror he bestowed on countless dogs. Our system doesn’t hold animal abusers accountable for their actions. Yet huge sentences are handed down to countless activists who never harmed anyone. People like the SHAC 7 , Walter Bond, Barry Horne , Peter Young just to name a few.

    Sloane Quealy-Miner

  3. I am so sick of his fans playing the race card, claiming he is remorseful and has served his time. Michael Vick murdered countless dogs and his minute prison stint is a joke in comparison to his heinous crimes. Michael Vick fought dogs for sport, and when they didn’t win him money he hung, drowned, electrocuted or shot them. He tied innocent dogs to rape stands for the brutal practice of mating. Not to mention the beatings and the syringes full of drugs forcibly injected into the dogs. It was hell on earth for the dogs at Bad Newz Kennels who had no say in their actions. And though some made it out alive, many of the dogs continue to suffer to this day.

    I know Michael Vick is not a changed man, nor does he have any remorse for the horror he bestowed on countless dogs. Yet he has been repeatedly rewarded, idolized and celebrated. Our society/system doesn’t hold animal abusers accountable for their actions. And anyone who stands up for their rights like myself are often considered by many to be “extremists” or “terrorists”. Huge sentences are handed down to countless animal rights activists who never harmed anyone. People like the SHAC 7 , Walter Bond, Barry Horne , Peter Young just to name a few. Clearly, there is rarely ever justice for the animals. To make matters worse we have organizations like HSUS and the ASPCA continually betraying the animals they are charged with protecting.

    Sloane Quealy-Miner

    • Sloane, thank you for your reply. I love meeting new people who share the same passion as I do. In case you did not know, I am also the director and executive producer of the soon to be released documentary about bsl and pit bull dogs titles Guilty Til Proven Innocent. Check out the official website at http://www.GTPIfilm.com. There you will find two of the released trailers and links to the Facebook fan page. Thanks again!

  4. I was going to leave my own comment on that waste of space but I can’t keep my language civilized or clean enough to even speak my piece………. GRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Pingback: Dropping The Ball On A Killer | GarryRogers Nature Conservation·

  6. Pingback: Animal Cruelty and Dropping The Ball On A Killer | GarryRogers Nature Conservation·

Leave a Reply

